Skip to content
Font size A A A


Resources for students and educators


The Four Religions of East Asia

This lesson provides an introduction to China and Japan’s four mjor religions: Buddhism, Confucianism, Daoism, and Shinto.

Provided by Cleveland Museum of Art


Japan’s indigenous belief system dates back over 2,000 years. Kami devotion varies throughout Japan, but was termed Shinto during the Meiji Period (1868-1912)

Provided by Asian Art Museum
No results fit those filters

Find out more about TeachJapan.
Lead funding for the Asian Art Museum’s TeachJapan is generously provided by The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership.
Additional support is provided by Susan and Kevin McCabe.

Teach Japan was created in collaboration with the following arts organizations: